+91-4562-235000 (30 lines) msec@mepcoeng.ac.in
+91-4562-235000 (30 lines) msec@mepcoeng.ac.in


Department of Physics
About the Department
The department of Physics at MSEC, Sivakasi, established in 1984, is one of the supporting departments of all undergraduate programmes. The department has highly qualified and dedicated faculty members. Four faculty members are doctorate holders and the remaining three are pursuing their Ph.D. The department is well equipped with Laboratory facilities for undergraduate students that can accommodate 120 students to do lab experiments individually. The department has been recognized for pursuing PhD by Anna University, Chennai and all the doctorate faculty members are recognized, research supervisors. The department has obtained major research grants from the different funding agencies like DST, DRDO, BRNS, CSIR, etc., exceeding 140 lakhs. The research activities have resulted in 178 publications in peer-reviewed SCI journals. Our research spans over Nanomagnetism and spintronics, Thin-film physics, Nanomaterials, Molecular spectroscopy and Astrophysics, and remote sensing & GIS.
It caters to the needs of first year B.E / B.Tech. students in strengthening their knowledge in Applied Physics and Materials Science, to serve as a launching pad for their technological career.

  • To cater the knowledge of Physics and Material Science to all Engineers and Technologists
  • To improve the Industry-Institution relation
  • To pursue advanced research activities in Ultrasonics
  • To make collaborative research work with National/ International laboratories
  • To establish research facilities in Thin films
Courses Offered
Ph.D (Physics) - Full Time / Part Time
Establishment Year: 2000
Scholars Completed Ph.D: 0
Scholars Pursuing Ph.D: 7